Help with powering the Simple T4 RF receiver

Ok, so I’m very new to electronics, but I’m using a T4 RF receiver in my project and I’m powering it with an Adafruit 3.7V 4400mAh battery. I’m an idiot and only after soldering my entire project together did I realise it says +5V. Does it need 5v or more to work or am I good with 3.7V? If it does need more, is there way to boost it?

Might work. Won’t hurt. Won’t work the best. Sensitivity may be lower than specified.

Datasheet says operating voltage from 4 to 15 volts for the chip on the board. The rest of the board seems specified for 5V. Check the voltage of your battery, it can be a range of values depending on the state of charge.

I’d say as the voltage falls too far, the oscillator may not start, and so it won’t receive data. Exactly what voltage does this will depend on manufacturing variances. You could test it.

Thanks. Checked with my multimeter and it’s actually hitting about 4.05 on average. Seems to be working ok right now. Will need to test sensitivity probably, but in most cases it won’t get further than a few meters. Being RF means it can penetrate through materials to an extent yeah?

Be with you in a little bit.

Thank you! Just tested the range really quick and it’s pretty abysmal, like 30cm or not even… So I guess I’ll need to boost the voltage. Is there something I can add that will do that? No rush, and thanks for dealing with my annoying newbie questions haha

Sorry, got an interrupt here.

30cm is a bit low; but it depends on the transmitter; show us your transmitter assembly?

Yes, RF can penetrate a bit, but keep both antennas at least 95cm from any metal to increase the range. This is usually quite hard to do, so don’t stress over it.

Also, just checking, if you’re in Australia you are limited to ten microwatts under the Radiocommunications (Low Interference Potential Devices) Class License, and that won’t go far. I’d normally choose a 433 MHz pair of devices in Australia.