Xbee Wireless Help

Hello,
I am fairly new to Arduino and I am attempting to make a wireless circuit using the Xbee Wireless Series 1, Xbee explorer and the Lilypad Xbee, but I do not know where to start with code. To start with, I just want to be able to turn a LED on with a sensor wirelessly. If anyone has some in which I can use for this sort of thing that would be great. This is only for a proof that it is possible to make it work, it will, in the end, need code for matrix LED grids, other lights, and many sensors too.

I would also like to be able to power a set of 5 LED Grids of a battery connected to the Lilypad Xbee and would like to know what type of batteries should be used. Is a 9V okay?

Thanks Heaps

G’day Tom,

I’m assuming you are using the Xbee Explorer USB or Xbee Explorer Dongle, though you might be using the Xbee Explorer Serial. Let me know.

To turn a LED on using XBee:

• attach the LED to one of the LilyPad XBee output pins, along with a series resistor, and a return to ground,
  • use the XBee configuration programs to pair the two XBee modules,
  • insert one of the modules into the LilyPad,
  • give suitable power to the LilyPad,
  • write code on your computer to send an I/O command to the XBee on the Explorer.

As a result, the XBee will send the command over wireless to the other XBee and the LED will turn on.

The code can be in any language in which you can access the USB device. Python might be a good language to try. This will prove it is possible to flash a LED over wireless.

To turn on a LED in response to sensor input;

• read the sensor input somehow (is it on the LilyPad or on the computer?),
  • make a decision in code,
  • send an appropriate I/O command to the XBee on the Explorer.