First project - starting an electronic countdown timer for rocket launch?

Hi guys,

I am new to electronics and I am looking for a device which can ignite rocket igniters via a countdown timer.
Here is the project I want to do but have no idea where to start

What equipment will I need? I need an Arduino board but does it have to be a certain type of Arduino board?
can all the equipment required for this project be purchased through littlebird?

He has a link to the project page:
http://arduining.com/?s=launcher
You could use just about any arduino even the pro mini if you wanted to take up less space. A quick search and you could probably get 90% of the components used on littlebird.

so the equipment I need which can be purchased through littlebird would be:

Arduino UNO R3 (recommended for beginners with Arduino)
7 segment Serial Display
10k potentiometer
yellow arcade button
piezo buzzer
protoboard / protoshield
missile switch cover
LED lights
10k ohm resistors
N-channel Fets
9V batteries
tupperware box or 3D printed case for the electronics

Don’t forget your other resistors (100ohm, 240ohm and 2.4kohm), capacitor (22uF) and 5V relay. Note that he uses an n-channel transistor (2n2222A) for the relay driver but you could use a mosfet like you said. Does that all make sense?

there are a few parts you have listed which I am unsure of their purpose and I need to know why they are necessary.

The capacitor acts like a small battery correct?
the n-channel transistor what does this actually do?
the 1N4001 what does this do?
the 5V relay what does that do? switch currents?

do all the negative wires connect to just 1 GND slot or do I use a separate GND slot for each jumper wire?
I wish this schematic included a diagram of how to setup the jumper wires.